Giveaway: Author Skype Visit and Be Someone’s Hero T-shirt

SO excited to be doing my first Skype interview next week with the amazing Joan Young. YEAH!!!

So, in the interest of just jumping into the WHOLE Skype world, I’m offering a raffle for a free 30-45 minute Skype visit with me for any classroom or library!  (Please see terms and conditions at the bottom).

Winner will also receive a “Be someone’s hero. No cape required” T-shirt.

Front (top pic) and back (bottom pic) of shirt

Raffle will end at 11:59 pm on Monday, July 9th (the real Michael Eric’s birthday 🙂

I was going to use Rafflecopter but it won’t run on the free version of WordPress–so, here goes.

Earn entries by:

  • Making a general comment on this blog (Please include e-mail or Twitter name as contact)
  • Making a comment about an everyday hero that you know on Twitter using #oneforthemurphys (The hashtag allows me to find/keep track of entries)
  • Citing a favorite line from One for the Murphys~no spoilers, please. 🙂
  • Tweet about this giveaways using #oneforthemurphys  (The hashtag allows me to find/keep track of entries)
  • Share on Facebook (Please tell me this in comment section below)
  • Tell me that you are a teacher (5th grade and up) or librarian–cha-ching! extra entry!

Terms and conditions:

~Thank you for your interest in my raffle. 🙂 Congratulations to the winner!

~Winner must respond to my message of winning within 72 hours or another winner will be chosen.

~This skype visit is for a 30-45 minute Q&A session with the author of One for the Murphys.

~This is for grades 5 and up only.

~If the students have read/heard One for the Murphys prior to the visit, it will be a far richer experience for them. However, I won’t require it.

~Skype may be scheduled for any time that fits both of our schedules during the 2012-13 school year.

~This offer is for the 2012-13 school year only.


Categories: Marketing, One for the Murphys, Online marketing | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “Giveaway: Author Skype Visit and Be Someone’s Hero T-shirt

  1. Those of you who are tweeting–please remember the hashtag #oneforthemurphys. Makes it easier to figure out who is entered here vs. who is just tweeting in general. I will include hashtag in my twitter posts from now on so it’s there for RTs. Sorry–I’m catching on here! 🙂 Thanks for your interest in my giveaway!

  2. Amy

    #oneforthemurphys My hero is my grandmother. She was a teacher in the 1930’s and taught me to read voraciously!

  3. Ann O'Hare

    #oneforthemurphys My hero is @jellyrace. She introduced me to The Book Whisperer by Donalyn Miller and to Twitter….She pushes my learning curve!!!!

  4. I love this book! My hero is the mom who gave me this book to read and has reignited a passion for reading in me. I am a fifth grade teacher who would be THRILLED to win the visit!

  5. Thanks so much, Ladies! You’ve all been entered in the giveaway. 🙂

  6. My hero(s) are teachers/librarians who walk the walk of life-long readers, sharing their passion for books & reading with the children they come in contact with everyday. It takes ONE spark to ignite the fire…and that makes them my hero(s). I’m a 5th grade teacher who ADORES your book and works with many “Carly”s every year. I’m posting your giveaway on my blog’s FaceBook page also. 🙂

  7. My hero(s) are anyone whom likes to read. This includes my late father, my six-year old son, four-year old daughter and past and future students in my classroom. I also need to mention Susan Dee who is quickly become a hero as well as she provides my classroom with many great books. I’m also a 5th grade teacher who can’t seem to read enough Middle Grade Books.

  8. My hero is my husband who battles depression and mental illness every day and continues to push on. I am a retired teacher and volunteer librarian in a small Maine town. (That should earn me 2 extra entries!) Shared on Facebook. “have a happy life someday”

  9. Kristen(kkilpatrick7)

    I loved your book. I have recommended it to many and hope to encourage my 5th grade readers to read it in the fall. My Hero’s are mothers; birth, adoptive, foster, step and single. Those strong women who shape, model, support and encourage successful readers and citizens.

  10. Hey!

    Thanks to everyone who participated by adding comments here, posting to FB, and tweeting and retweeting on twitter!

    So, after assigning numbers, I gave the spinner two spins and have TWO winners: Kristen (kkilpatrick7) and Susan Dee (literacydocent). YEAH!

    THANKS, everyone! 🙂

    I’ll do more giveaways through out the summer!

    Lynda

  11. Hi, Lynda. Congratulations! I found you through your interview on Samantha’s blog. I’m a middle grade author, as well (my first book is coming out spring 2014 from Simon & Schuster/Aladdin M!x) and I love meeting other middle grade authors. Looking forward to reading your book!

    • So sorry that I missed this message! I’ve been a way for a while but I need to check this more! 🙂 CONGRAT’S on your new book! So exciting!!! I also love meeting other MG authors–keep in touch. 🙂

  12. I teach 4th grade gifted reading, so I’m not qualified for the Skype contest, but how can I get one of those t-shirts??? I love it!

  13. Sorry I missed this one. And I have heard such good things about you and the Whispering Pines Retreat.

Heroic comments:

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

