My NCTE14 Schedule – Would Love to Meet Teachers/Readers!

Annual14Hey, Folks!

I would love to see you at NCTE in Washington D.C.! If you are there and would like to attend one of my sessions and/or signings, below is my schedule. Also, check out the AMAZING company I have on these panels; I’m so excited!

Take care,

Lynda

Friday, November 21

9:30 – 10:45 AM:

PanelA.06 – Revising the Story: Reluctant Readers Overcoming Shame

Where? **Annapolis 3**

Teachers and authors realize that through testing and well intended intervention, and reading instruction, some students have inadvertently developed a negative self–image of reading. This panel will discuss and demonstrate how they help students overcome shame and realize a love for reading again through personalized instruction and insightful text analysis.

Speakers/Teachers:

Chair ~ Justin Stygles, Guy Row Elementary School, Norway, Maine

Kara DiBartolo, Bethel Public Schools, Connecticut

Melissa Guerrette, Oxford Elementary School, Oxford, Maine

Authors:

Lynda Mullaly Hunt, Nancy Paulsen Books/Penguin Group, New York, New York. Author of ONE FOR THE MURPHYS and forthcoming FISH IN A TREE (Feb 5, 2015)

Liesl Shurtliff, Knopf books, New York, New York. Author of RUMP, THE TRUE STORY OF RUMPELSTILSKIN and forthcoming JACK: THE TRUE STORY OF JACK AND THE BEANSTALK (April 14, 2015)
.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Friday, cont.

SIGNINGS: (Please come by to say hello! I love to meet readers! I’ll have swag for both ONE FOR THE MURPHYS and FISH IN A TREE)

~1:00 – 2:00 PM: Signing in the Penguin Young Readers, Booth#612, 614, 616

~4:00 – 5:00 PM: Anderson’s signing Booth #153

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

.

Saturday, November 22

9:30 – 10:45 AM:

G.46. GROW THROUGH IT: FOSTERING RESLIENCE AND EMPATHY THROUGH STORY

WHERE? **Maryland B**

Audience: Elementary, Middle

A panel of children’s book authors and classroom teachers share ideas and strategies professionals can

use with students to build resilience and empathy. Attendees will learn conditions that help support the

development of resilience and empathy and how literature can be used to foster this development.

Presenters:

Susan Dee, RSU 5, Freeport, Durham, and Pownell, Maine;

Gigi McAllister, teacher, Gorham, Maine; Gigi McAllister, teacher, Gorham, Maine;

Leslie Connor, author, HarperCollins-Tegen Books, New York, New York;

Lynda Mullaly Hunt, Nancy Paulsen Books/(Penguin Group), New York, New York;

Jennifer Nielsen, author, Scholastic Inc., New York, New York

Categories: writing | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “My NCTE14 Schedule – Would Love to Meet Teachers/Readers!

  1. Wow, this sounds like a great panel! I had the pleasure of hearing you on an author panel at AASL last year and you were fabulous! So down to earth! I’d love to hear Leslie Connor too. Waiting for Normal absolutely broke my heart. Love that one and your One for the Murphys! Have a wonderful time next week.

    • Hey, Melanie – such a sweet message! Thank you so much 🙂 I am SUCH a fan of Leslie Connor – as an author and as a wonderful person. Hope our paths cross again!

  2. Hope our paths cross at NCTE, Lynda! I’ve highlighted your signings in my schedule and would love to get to a session! Safe travels! 😊

  3. Hope our paths cross at NCTE, Lynda! I’ve highlighted your signings on my schedule and hope to get to a session! Safe travels! 😊

  4. Enjoy! Sounds like quite the line-up. Don’t forget to pack Power bars! You will shine.

  5. Wish I could make it to one of your sessions, but they’re both pitted against others I’m trying to catch. I hate it when all the sessions I want to attend are at the same time. Hoping to meet you at the signings – I need a copy of Fish in a Tree!

Heroic comments:

Blog at WordPress.com.

